407-878-0607
Florida, Georgia & North Carolina 
Licensees can Activate with Us.

Park Place Realty Network 

The Leading Real Estate Referral & License Holding Company

Blog

Requirements on how to get a Georgia real estate license

Posted by Park Place Realty Network on April 17, 2019 at 4:00 PM

So, you’ve decided to become a real estate agent in Georgia? That is quite a big move, and a great one! But don’t worry, it’s not that difficult! While there are a few steps you need to take, it is nothing that you can’t handle. And, actually, getting a license in Georgia is somewhat easier than in other states. Don’t be dissuaded, with just a few (albeit a bit lengthy) steps, you can also get a Georgia real estate license and start your next journey as a real estate agent!




Basic requirements to get a Georgia real estate license


You’ve probably given much thought to your career choice and are determined to see it through. However, before you even think about trying to get a Georgia real estate license, check to see whether you fulfil a few basic requirements. Without fulfilling them, you’re not even eligible to become a real estate agent in the state of Georgia.


Firstly, of course, you have to be over 18 and have to be a US citizen. You can, however, take the exam if you’re 17. But you should know that you cannot activate your license until you turn 18. Also, you must have a high school degree or at least a GED.



Educational requirements to get a Georgia real estate license


If you want to become a fully licensed Georgia real estate agent, you have to successfully complete the 75-hour Salesperson Pre-license Course. Also, you have to complete the course at a school that is approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission. Some of the topics that are covered in the course include the real estate business, license law, qualifications for licensure, commission rules, real estate brokerage activities and procedures, etc. The training for this line of work is absolutely necessary if you want to get a Georgia real estate license.


However, there are other options instead of taking the Pre-license Course. You can complete at least 10 quarter hours or 6 semester hours of coursework for a major in real estate. It needs to be completed at an accredited college in the US or Canada. Or, you can complete a course in real property, agency or contract law.



What to do if you’ve just moved to Georgia?


It is possible that you are just considering moving to Georgia in order to start a new career. Of course, that is a great step! Georgia is a wonderful, wonderful state. With so much to do and a plethora of opportunities, this southern state may be the perfect choice for you!


However, before you move, check to see whether you’ve hired the right moving company. You don’t want your Georgian life starting off in a bad way! That is why you should go to https://bestcrosscountrymovers.com/  and find the perfect movers. They will be able to help you start your life in Georgia perfectly! And you will be able to start your new job as a real estate agent in peace.


If you have already completed 75 hours of pre-license coursework in any other US state or Canada, you don’t have to do it again. Just provide proof that you’ve completed it. Also, you need to provide proof that the coursework is approved by that state’s real estate regulatory agency. Or, in case you have completed it in Canada, you need the proof from the corresponding province. Even though you’re trying to get a Georgia real estate license, much of the coursework should be the same in all the states.



Apply for the Georgia Real Estate License Examination


In order to take the exam, you should register online or you can schedule your exam via phone. After scheduling it, make sure to pay the exam fee, which is $115. You will be taking the text at one of the AMP (Applier Measurement Professionals) test centers. And, of course, don’t forget to bring the required documentation to your exam. This includes:


Two valid forms of identification, both with signatures. One ID has to be a government-issued ID with a photo, while the other can just include your name and signature (for instance, your credit card).


Confirmation number of the registration.


A copy of your criminal history. You can also get a report from the Georgia Crime Information Center from any police departments. Take note that you should get the report within 60 days prior to the examination. It’s only valid for 60 days, but you have to have it with you at the exam center.


Again, if you’re moving to the state to get a Georgia real estate license, start off your new life right! Don’t stress about the move, because there might be plenty of stress with the test. For movers that know their way around Georgia, go to https://bestcrosscountrymovers.com/georgia and find your match. The right movers can take the burden off your shoulders, leaving you at ease to deal with the test in a proper way.



Apply for a Georgia real estate license


If you pass the exam, apply for your license within a year of the date of the examination. In case the year has passed and you have not applied, you will have to retake the exam.


Another thing that is important is choosing a broker that can sponsor you. This is key if you want to activate your real estate license. You should get a signed statement in which it is stated that a licensed broker will guide you while you work. The broker in question can work independently or it can be a member of a firm. If you’re unsure of who to choose to mentor you, choose someone from the https://www.parkplacenetwork.com/. They offer experienced brokers that can definitely “show you the ropes” and guide you in the best way possible. Looking for a broker is not too hard with the right company and can be done even during the licensing process.


To get a license, you simply have to pay a $170 fee. The fee is $170 only in the first 90 days after you’ve taken the exam. After that, the fee doubles to $340. And, don’t forget, if you haven’t acquired your license after a year, you will have to retake the exam.



Don’t forget about the post-license course!


After you’ve activated your license, you still have to do some studying, we’re afraid. But, luckily, it’s not too demanding. During the first year of your licensure, you have to take a 25-hour post-license course. Make sure to complete it, otherwise your license, the one you’ve worked so hard for, will lapse.



Written By: Lisa Robert with US Moving Experts



Get the details on getting your Georgia Reciprocal license here:

https://www.parkplacenetwork.com/gareciprocity


Categories: None

Post a Comment

Oops!

Oops, you forgot something.

Oops!

The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In

0 Comments

UA-37763839-1